2014 Award Recipients

The following SUNA members and SUNA chapters were recognized with awards at SUNA's 45th Annual Conference in Lake Buena Vista, FL, in October 2014.

President's Trophies

In Recognition of Outstanding Contributions to the Specialty of Urologic Nursing
Jane Hokanson Hawks, PhD, RN-BC, FAAN

In Recognition of Outstanding Contributions to SUNA
Diane Newman, DNP, ANP-BC, FAAN, BCB and Jean Wyman, PhD, APRN, GNP-BC, FAAN

Chapter Awards

Chapter of the Year
Upper Midwest

Little Chapter with a Big Heart
Yakima Valley

Most Improved Chapter
Northern California

Chapter With Best Communication
Chicago Metro

Chapter with Exceptional Educational Programs
MIssissippi Valley

Chapter with Exceptional Community Activities
Rocky Mountain

Chapter with Exceptional Contribution to SUNA
Greater Dallas/Fort Worth

Chapter Enhancement Scholarships

Upper Midwest

Regional Members of the Year

Northeast: Margaret Hammond, RN, CURN
Southeast: Irene Stazzone, RN, CURN
North Central: Gina Powley, MSN, APRN-BC
Western: Katie Wall, MSN, FNP-C

Ardeth Hale Leadership Award

Carol Einhorn, MS, RN, APRN, GNP, CURN

Ron Brady Career Mobility Scholarship

Anne Remington, RN, CURN

Macfarlane Award

Garrett Brake, CUA

Suszette McKay Memorial Excellence in Urologic Nursing Award

Kathleen Colella, MSN, ANP-BC

Jan LeBouton Certification Scholarship

Sarah King, CMA

Annual Conference Scholarships

Carol Ascher, MSN, FNP-BC
Mary Beth Hendricks, DNP, CUNP
Cindy McClean, LPN
Jamie Olson, RN, CURN

Lectureships Awards

Vance Caselman Lectureship
Sponsored by the Northern California Chapter of SUNA
Carrie Collin, BSN, RN, CURN ~ Preoperative Education Class for Men Undergoing Robotic Radical Prostatectomy

Russell Church Memorial Lectureship
Sponsored by the Florida Sunshine Chapter of SUNA
Christy Krieg, MSN, FNP, CUNP ~ Medical Management of Recurrent Renal Calculi

Arthur T. Evans Lectureship
Sponsored by the American Urological Association
Susanne Quallich, ANP-BC, NP-C, CUNP ~ Sorting Out PSA: Screening Smarter

Ruth Hughes Memorial Lectureship
Sponsored by the Greater Houston Chapter of SUNA
Cheryl LeCroy,  MSN, RN ~ Urinary Incontinence A to Z

Wyland Leadbetter Lectureship
Sponsored by the Upper Midwest Chapter of SUNA
Valre Welch, MSN, RN, CPNP ~ Understanding and Meeting the Challenges of Transitioning the Adolescent Patient with a Neurogenic Bladder into the Care of an Adult Practice - What Do You Need to Know To Be Successful?

Patricia Putetti Memorial Lectureship
Sponsored by the Mississippi Valley Chapter of SUNA
Jeffrey Albaugh, PhD, APRN-BC, CUCNS ~ Advanced Practice Focused Workshop Part II: Examination of the Male Genitalia

Ian Murchie Thompson Memorial Lectureship
Sponsored by the Columbia/Presbyterian Chapter of SUNA
Amy Hull, MSN, WHNP-BC ~ The Use of Estrogen Therapy in Pelvic Floor Disorders

Past Presidents’ Lectureship
Sponsored by the Past Presidents of SUNA
Lee Ann Boyd, MSN, ARNP, CUNP ~ Evaluation and Management of Bladder Cancer

Score with 4! Membership Recruiters

Linda Adams
Charlene Vollmer

Urologic Nursing Writer's Awards

Urologic Nursing Catherine-Ann Lawrence Literary Excellence Award
Benjamin W. Lamb, PhD, MRCS; Rozh T. Jalil, MRCS; Sujay Shah, MRCS; Katrina Brown, PhD; Paula Allchorne, MBA, Dip., RN, CNS; Charles Vincent, PhD; James S.A. Green, LLM, FRCS (Urol.); and Nick Sevdalis, PhD
"Cancer Patients’ Perspectives on Multidisciplinary Team Working: An Exploratory Focus Group Study" (published March/April 2014)

Urologic Nursing Outstanding Reviewer Award
Francie Bernier, PhD, RN