2009 Award Recipients

The following SUNA members and SUNA chapters were recognized with awards at SUNA's 40th Annual Conference in Chicago in October 2009.

President's Trophies

In Recognition of Outstanding Contributions to the Specialty of Urologic Nursing
Kelly Kruse

In Recognition of Outstanding Contributions to SUNA
Gina Powley

Chapter Awards

Chapter of the Year
Upper Midwest

Little Chapter with a Big Heart
Metro Baltimore

Exceptional New Chapter
Kentucky Bluegrass

Most Improved Chapter
Central Oklahoma

Chapter With Best Communication
Northern California

Chapter with Exceptional Educational Programs
Research Triangle

Chapter with Exceptional Contribution to SUNA
Great Lakes

Chapter with Exceptional Community Activity
Chicago Metro

Regional Members of the Year

Jeff Guse

Cynthia McLean

North Central
Mari Olsen

Jan Jensen

Lectureships Awards

Arthur T. Evans Lectureship
Cheryl LeCroy, MSN, RN
“It’s All in the Details: Urodynamic Case Studies”

Russell Church Memorial Lectureship
Jane Hokanson Hawks, PhD, RN, BC
“Writing for Publication: Helpful Hints”

Patricia Putetti Memorial Lectureship
Michelle Lajiness, FNP-BC
“The Use of Botulinum Toxin in Urology Procedures: A Case Study Approach”

Ian Murchie Thompson Memorial Lectureship
Melissa Feldhaus-Dahir, MSN, APRN
“Female Sexual Dysfunction: The Secret Women Are Talking About”

Vance Caselman Lectureship
Paula Forest, MSN, OCN, CHPN, GNP-BC, ARNP
“Delirium: The Newest and Most Poorly Recognized Epidemic in Hospitals”

Wyland Leadbetter Lectureship
Jeffrey Albaugh, PhD, APRN, CUCNS
“The Nurse's Role with the Patient with Prostate Cancer”

Past Presidents’ Lectureship
Valre Welch, MSN, RN, CPNP; and Shelly King, MSN, CPNP
“Congratulations You’re Having a Baby – Oh My, What Kinds of Problems Could We Have?”

Ron Brady Career Mobility Scholarship

Jennifer Kucera

Macfarlane Award

Marianne Borch

Jan LeBouton Certification Scholarship

Karen Dziuba

Recruiter of the Year

Cynthia McLean

Suszette McKay Memorial Excellence in Urologic Nursing Award

Geralyn Lewis

Annual Conference Scholarships

Catherine Salk
Jennifer Valenta

Urologic Nursing Writer's Awards

2008-2009 Urologic Nursing Catherine-Ann Lawrence Literary Excellence Award
Jo Ann Kleier, PhD, EdD, ARPN-C, CURN
“Procedure Competencies and Job Functions of the Urologic Advanced Practice Nurse” (published March-April 2009)

2008-2009 Urologic Nursing Novice Literary Excellence Awards
Elizabeth Ercolano, DNSc, RN
“Follow Up of Men Post-Prostatectomy: Who Is Responsible?” (published October 2008)